Lorena del Río jury member in Europan 14 France

Lorena del Río jury member in Europan 14 France

By | Juries | No Comments

Structure of the juries

The jury’s decisions are final in compliance with the Europan rules. Before beginning to work the jury receives recommendations from the European Association.

The jury meets in 2 separate sessions at different times:

First round – At the beginning of this session, the jury appoints one of its members as chairman and agrees on its working method. Sites representatives can be integrated to this jury level and, in some countries, may participate to the selection of the shortlisted projects.
The jury then studies the projects that do not comply with the rules and decide whether or not to disqualify them.
It later on assesses the projects on their conceptual content and the degree of innovation according to the Europan 14 topic and shortlists a maximum of 10 to 20% of the submitted projects.

Second round – During the second round, the jury examines –on its own and independently– the shortlisted projects and points out the Winners, Runners-Up and Special Mentions. The jury can assess the projects on basis of: the relationship between concept and site; the relevance to the questions raised by the topic and in particular to the issues of sustainable development and adaptability; the relevance of their programme to the general brief for their specific site; the potential for integration into a complex urban process; the innovative nature of the proposed public spaces; the consideration given to the connection between different functions; the architectural and technical qualities.
The jury finally writes a report giving the reasons for the choice made in relation to the requirements of the competition and the concerned sites.

Each country budget includes the equivalent of a Winner and a Runner-Up prize per site. Still, each entry is judged on its sole merits and the winning teams are not chosen on basis of an equal distribution between sites – the jury can therefore distribute prizes among entries up to its will or decide not to award all the prizes. In this case, the reasons shall be made public.
The jury may single out projects for Special Mention. These projects are recognised by the jury as presenting innovative ideas or insights, yet not sufficiently suitable for the site. The authors of such projects do not receive any reward.
If disqualified after validation of participation a prize-winning project may be replaced by another project if the quality is satisfactory.



Dr. in Architecture, researcher, teacher, Responsible for the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture

Architect, Jean-Marc Ibos & Myrto Vitart, Grand prix national de l’architecture 2016

Mathieu GONTIER (FR)
Landscaper, Wagon Landscaping, Winner of AJAP 2016, teacher at ENSP Versailles and Marseille, Honourable Mention E11 in Neuilly-sur-Marne (FR)

Architect, urban planner (Secchi-Vigano), teacher of urban planning and urban design at the Instituto Universitario di Architettura di Venezia (IT) and the EPFL in Lausanne (CH), Membre –together with Bernardo Secchi– of the AIGP Scientific Council (2012-2016), Grand prix de l’urbanisme 2013

Lorena DEL RIO (ES)
Architect, RICA STUDIO*, Professor at CCA – California College of the Arts in San Francisco and Cornell AAP, Co-Director of the research laboratory BuilLab, Runner-up E12 in Wien-Kagran (AT)


Architect and urban planner, occupational psychologist, Consultant on issues of space, work and organisation



Designer specialised in scenography, museography, environment design, valorisation of public spaces and heritage sites, Design teacher at the Ecole d’Enseignement Supérieur d’Art de Bordeaux

Agnès VINCE (FR)
Director of Architecture, General Direction of Heritage, French Ministery of culture and Communication

Directeur de l’habitat, de l’urbanisme et des paysages (DHUP)- DGALN – Ministère de l’Environnement de l’Energie et de la Mer, Ministère du Logement et de l’Habitat durable

Iñaqui Carnicero juror in Europan 14 Competition in Sweden

By | Juries | No Comments



Explore our exciting sites at Trelleborg and Karlskrona; both centrally located and on the sea, but facing fairly different challenges.

Read more about the site [Sjöstaden] in Trelleborg

Read more about the site [Hattholmen] in Karlskrona

We’re proud to present our Jury:

Anders Olausson (SE) (Chairman) | Senior Lead Architect | Wingårdhs

Sabine Müller (DE) | Architect and urban designer, Professor of urbanism at the Oslo School of Architecture and Design | SMAQ Architektur und Stadt

Henrietta Palmer (SE) | Research leader | Mistra Urban Futures

Iñaqui Carnicero (ES) | Architect, Principal | RICA Studio

Sam Jacob (UK) | Contributing editor for Icon & Dezeen, Editor of the “Strange Harvest”, Director | Sam Jacob Studio ltd

Sabina Richter (SE) | Landscape Architect, Cofounder | 02 Landskap

Fredrik Drotte (SE) | Architect, Head of City Development | Upplands Väsby

Please check as well to stay updated about the competition and the competition sites.

To get in touch with the Swedish Europan Secretariat, check our “WHO” section. Contact information for each site is available in the full site briefs.

The Jury of Arq Monografias Teodoro Fernandez and Iñaqui Carnicero announcing the winner.

By | Juries | No Comments

Por Arquitectura UC.

En la plaza central del Centro de Extensión UC, el arquitecto y docente Max Nuñez fue anunciado ganador del concurso en el marco de la exposición Venecia 2.26 y la presentación del nuevo número de la revista ARQ.

Nueve propuestas se recibieron en la convocatoria para publicar en la Serie ARQ Monografías de Ediciones ARQ. El jurado, compuesto por Teodoro Fernández, Premio Nacional de Arquitectura de Chile 2014, e Iñaqui Carnicero, arquitecto español y ganador del León de Oro en la Bienal de Venecia 2016, se reunió el pasado martes evaluando el total de portafolios, destacando el muy buen nivel de las entregas que, además de asegurar la calidad de la publicación en concurso, augura una promisoria renovación en la arquitectura chilena.

La edición de la publicación está programada para el 2017.


A continuación algunas imágenes del portafolio ganador. Créditos Escuela de Arquitectura UC: